The Prodigy - The Fat Of The Land

The Fat of the Land is the third studio album by English electronic music group The Prodigy, released on 30 June 1997 through XL Recordings. The album received critical acclaim and topped the UK Albums Chart and the US Billboard 200. It has sold over 10 million copies worldwide as of 2019.[3][4]

Background, artwork and album title
While Liam Howlett is generally responsible for the compositions and Maxim Reality is featured on two tracks, this is the first record to include contributions by Keith Flint, who provides vocals on four of the songs and co-wrote three songs, including the two biggest hits, both of which reached No. 1 on the UK singles chart. He is also the vocalist on a cover of the L7 song “Fuel My Fire” (from the 1994 album Hungry for Stink). The Fat of the Land album cover featured a new logo, dropping “The” and adding an ant silhouette. The album title comes from the old English phrase ‘living off the fat of the land', which means living well or being wealthy.[5]

Released in the last week of June, the album hit number one on the Billboard chart on 19 July 1997. Certified double platinum on 2 December that year,[6] it sold 2,600,000 copies in the United States.[7]

In 1999, The Fat of the Land entered the Guinness World Records as the fastest-selling UK album. The album was also nominated for the 1998 Grammy Award for Best Alternative Music Album, but lost to Radiohead's OK Computer.

The National Organization for Women objected to the seeming misogyny of “Smack My Bitch Up”, though the band maintains that its true interpretation is “doing anything intensely”.[8] Liam Howlett observed, “That record was for the fans. Only brainless people get some stupid message out of it… I'm often misquoted. Some magazine said, ‘Liam Howlett says his band are dangerous.' What I said was, ‘For this band to survive, it has to be dangerous for us'… I wasn't saying we were dangerous because we're firestarters and we have spiky hair.”[9]

See also
Download Spotify Malaysia Top 50 March 2019

Format : MPEG Audio
Version : Version 1
Profile : Layer 3
Settings : Joint stereo / MS Stereo
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 128 kb/s
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Sampling rate : 48.0 kHz

Track List

01 – Smack My Bitch Up.mp3
02 – Breathe.mp3
03 – Diesel Power.mp3
04 – Funky Shit.mp3
05 – Serial Thrilla.mp3
06 – Mindfields.mp3
07 – Narayan.mp3
08 – Firestarter.mp3
09 – Climbatize.mp3
10 – Fuel My Fire.mp3

[sociallocker id=1410][/sociallocker]

Terlepas beberapa topik menarik? Aktifkan notifikasi sekarang. Benarkan Tidak berminat